Flying high with Andrew Bird

20 Mar

By Damian Biniek

andrew_bird

If you read my previous post on Kishi Bashi, you already know I love looping. That’s when a music artist uses a foot pedal to record a particular melody and then plays over that melody for a much fuller sound.

What I didn’t acknowledge there is that I also love string instruments. There’s something heavenly and rich to the sound of them. From bluegrass to classical music, I sit enraptured by the sweet tones they produce.

Like Kishi Bashi, Andrew Bird brings both elements to the table. While the violin is his primary musical tool, Bird is a multi-instrumentalist who creates complex and soaring arrangements. And his lyrics are just as intricate.

Andrew Bird: Sectionate City

Andrew Bird: Anonanimal (Pitchfork)

Andrew Bird: Eyeoneye

Andrew Bird: Give It Away (KEXP)

Andrew Bird: Three White Horse (The Current)

Andrew Bird: Spare-Ohs (La Blogotheque)

Leave a comment