Get your dance on with Girl Talk’s “Girl Walk//All Day.”

18 Mar

By Damian Biniek

I’ve been on hiatus. Obviously. But I’m back… and well, I feel like dancing.

Not literally, of course. Unless it is in the comfort of my own bedroom… or last Friday at the Brooklyn Bowl, doing my little hippie-like, noodly type dancing to the sounds of Soulive.

Look, I know I can’t dance. Not well anyway. But when the spirit strikes you, you just gotta move, right? Sometimes I don’t get how I can be so reserved and awkward on a normal day, but feel inspired to bust a move to some awesome music.

For your morning music today, I want to share a film with you.

girl_escalator_1-copy

You may already be familiar with the DJ, Girl Talk. As a purveyor of our modern remix culture, Greg Gillis has been mashing up some of the best music from the later half of the 20th century and today since about 2007, when he quit studying biomedical engineering to focus solely on his music projects.

I could try to explain what I find so appealing about some of the songs he’s remixed as Girl Talk, but Gillis explained it best on a 2009 episode of Weekend America, where I first learned about him.

I could make an album that would be totally un-listenable, and use Beethoven and county music and whatever. But for this, it’s all about walking the line, creating something that’s somewhat experimental and progressive, but still accessible. I’m a pop fiend, and I like to sample stuff that people are familiar with, whether they like it or hate it, to just have that emotional, nostalgic connection to these songs.

The joy in his songs is picking out the known in all the unknown. With the layering of all these different cuts and songs, each track becomes something new and intricate, but you can find within them something recognizable. Something joyful to connect with.

With that joyful buzz surrounding him, Gillis spent 2011 fundraising on Kickstarter and beginning to film around New York City. The end result is a brilliant and engaging feature length music video called “Girl Walk//All Day.”

The film is parceled out in 12 chapters, with each chapter corresponding to one of the 12 tracks on Girl Talk’s album “All Day.” There’s a loose narrative here with three characters, “The Girl” (played by Anne Marsen,) “The Gentleman” (played by Dai Omiya,) and “The Creep” (played by John Doyle” spending a day traversing New York City by dancing their way through it.

You can check out the first chapter down below or see the full film at http://girlwalkallday.com.

And be sure to let us know what you think in the comments!

Leave a comment